How to heal a broken heart

life wisdom from my Spanish teacher from Amauta Spanish School, Cuenca, Ecuador

The 10 homework assignments, super cute that she drew a heart for letter O

2 weeks ago, I was extremely sad and depressed about what happened with my travel partner. Usually I have Spanish homework every day. Before the end of Friday class that week, my Spanish teacher, Monica, gave me a piece of paper and told me that this was my homework for the weekend. The moment I started to read it, I found out that it was advice to help me through a difficult time, instead of normal homework. The words are full of wisdom, warmth, and encouragement. The homework literally made me burst into tears. I found the life advice very helpful, and would like to share it to inspire more people.

La Tarea

  1. Sonríe
  2. Cuida tu corazón
  3. Come tu comida preferida
  4. Descansa
  5. Lee tu libro en Taiwanés
  6. Practica español
  7. Trabaja en tu plan de tu neuva vida
  8. Cálmate, accepta la realidad
  9. Recuerda: tú eres bella, joven, inteligente, no mere ces personas malas para ti.
  10. Perdona con tu corazón. Todas las personas cometemos errores.

English translation:

  1. Smile.
  2. Take care of your heart.
  3. Eat your preferred food.
  4. Rest.
  5. Read your book in Taiwanese/ Mandarin. (The language part is just because I’m from Taiwan. I think this can be changed to “Read a book from your country/ language.”)
  6. Practice Spanish.
  7. Work on your new life plan.
  8. Calm down and accept the reality.
  9. Remember: you’re beautiful, young, and smart. You don’t deserve bad people for you.
  10. Forgive with your heart. All people make mistakes.
Monica’s handwriting

I used that weekend to have a good rest. I went hiking and had some good Korean food. The next Monday, I went back to class and proudly told Monica that I had done her homework. I had completed all 10 except 5 and 6. She was happy for me. And then she drew the flower on my class note. Las raíces means the roots. She told me that all the different aspects of life — traveling, studying (Spanish), family, friends, career, meeting new people — are like the roots of a flower. The better I take care of them, the stronger I grow. And eventually the flower will bloom. Therefore, it’s not worth spending time wallowing in grief and neglecting all the important parts of life. There are still many good things and people in the world.

--

--

艾莉在路上 | Ellie On The Way

Software Engineer/ Front-end/ UIUX 💡中南美洲數位遊牧中 ✈️ You can find me ⬇️ https://linktr.ee/ellie.yang